Kano State House of Assembly has suspended five of its members for six months. The affected members are; Labaran Abdul Madari (APC) representing Warawa Constituency, Garba Yau Gwarmai (APC) representing Kunchi/Tsanyawa, Isyaku Ali Danja (PDP) representing Gezawa constituency, Mohammed Bello (APC) representing Rimingado/Tofa constituency and Salisu Ahmed Gwamgwazo (PDP) representing Kano Municipal.

The state assembly Speaker, Alhaji Abdulazeez Gafasa, announced this on Monday during the assembly’s sitting. According to him, members affected were suspended for misconduct and violation of the house’s rules and regulation.

“The five members were suspended for violating the rules of the house especially Order IV Sub 4 a, b, d and also disrupting the sittings of the house and preventing proceedings from going on.

“They behave violently and even attempted to snatch away the assembly’s mace in a clear attempt to sabotage the house sitting,” said the speaker. It could be recalled that there was a rowdy session last week at the assembly when the committee that investigated Muhammadu Sanusi II, the then emir of Kano, attempted to submit its report at the floor of the assembly.

1 thought on “Kano House of Assembly suspends five members over allegations of misconduct

  1. The suspension of the five members is null and void because it is deviod of fair hearing.
    There ought to have been a committee which will sit on the alleged action and also require the five members to give their side of the issue, before judgement of the suspension can be given to them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *