A Benin High court on Monday ordered seven suspects who allegedly invaded the Edo State House of Assembly complex to be remanded in police custody.

The suspects are Wilfred Ogbewe, 52, Igbinobono Collins, 26, Salami Osayomore, 25, Odion Osayande, 23, Morgan Uwanboe, 47, Ifeoluwa Oladele, 36 and Agbonrere Festus,25.

The suspects had on Aug 6th this year invaded the Edo State House of Assembly premises in Benin City in a manner designed to cause a breach of peace and attack on workers.

The presiding Judge, Justice Efe Ikponmwonba, ordered the Police prosecuting counsel, Mr Akomen Adaghe to remand the suspects in police custody till Sept. 3rd when a plea (arraignment) would be taken, after the originating motion scheduled for tomorrow, Aug. 25.

Earlier, the counsel to the suspects, Mr Mattias Obayuwana had told the court that there was an enrolment order directed by the IG, adding that suspects were billed to have appeared in court on Tuesday, Aug. 25, for hearing and not today (Monday) Aug. 24.

Obayuwana said he was shocked that the prosecuting counsel brought the suspects to court.

However, Adaghe said he was not aware of such an order, but appealed to the court for the suspects to be remanded.

Justice Ikponmwonba, who also agreed with suspects counsel, adjourned the sitting to Aug. 25 for originating motion with respect of the enforcement of Fundamental Human Right

She, however, ordered that the suspects not be brought along to court, adding that the court does not need unnecessary attention that the presence of the suspects has generated.

2 thoughts on “Court remands seven suspects for invasion of Edo House of Assembly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *