An FCT High Court in Apo has remanded 60 alleged members of the proscribed Islamic movement of Nigeria (IMN) popularly known as Shiite group, who were arrested during the July 22 protest in the capital city.

A Deputy Commissioner of Police, Usman Umar and one Precious Owolabi, a corps member with Channels Television were among those who died following the protest that took place within the Central Business District of Abuja.

The police charged the defendants, which include teenagers and females, in a 9-count charge bordering on culpable homicide, disturbance of public peace and destruction of government properties.

All the defendants, however, pleaded not guilty to the charge when it was read to them in Hausa language.

Following the not-guilty plea by the defendants, the prosecution counsel, Simon Laoung urged the court to remand the defendants in the correctional centre in Kuje, noting that all the defendant had previously been detained at the facility of the Special Anti-Robbery Squad (SARS). He also urged the court to move its sitting to Kuje due to logistics of moving the defendants to court.

The defence counsel, Bala Dakum, informed the court that he intended to move a bail application for the defendants. Consequently, the trial judge, Justice Sulaiman Belgore ordered that the defendants be remanded in SARS custody until December 10 when their applications for bail and change of venue for the trial would be heard. The teenagers among the male defendants are: Mohammed Kamisu, 11; Ibrahim Khalid, 18; Muhammad Abdullahi, 17; Bakir Jabir, 17; Ahmed Mohammed, 18; Aliyu Abdullahi, 16; Mahadi Bello, 13; Kamalu Usman, 15; Zaiyanu Usman, 15; Ahmed Abdullahi, 18; Ansar Y.A. Ansar, 16; Ahmed Adamu, 16; Yahaya Abdullahi, 18; Nura S. Salilu, 16; Mohammed Ishaq, 19; Amar Dayabi, 18; and Isah Alfa Isah, 16. Others are: Ali Idris, 14; Amad Abdullahi, 15; Muhammad Ibrahim, 17; Shehu Kabir Garba, 17; Ahmid Suleiman, 18; Aminu Usman, 18; Abdullahi Abubakar, 17; Umar Abubakar, 19; Mohammed Abubakar, 15; Mohammed Mohammed, 18; Jibrin Usman, 19; Kamarudeen Milkalu, 16; Mohammed Wadata, 16; Musa Hamisu, 15; Aliyu Adam, 16; Mohammed Aliyu, 14; Sani Musa, 16; Abubakar Adam, 17; and Mahadi Tukur, 15. The adults are: Abdullahi Musa, 22; Usman Khamisu, 20; Mohammed Sani, 20; Isah Ahmed, 25; Shamsu Buhari, 32; Ibrahim Shehu, 37; Musa Mohammed, 22; Iliyasu Yakubu, 26; Imran Ayuba, 28; Aminu Suleiman, 21; Aliyu Musa, 20; Hamza Mahadi, 20; Adamu Usman, 24; Kabir Umar, 20; Rabiu Habib, 26; Ibrahim Sani, 20; Ayuba Ridwanu, 20; and Kamal Umar, 20. The female defendants are: Hajara Hussein, 13; Fatima Mohammed Sabi, 17;  Fatima Ibrahim, 20; Ummulkusum Ismail, 20; Hawau Adamu, 43; and Hawau Aminu, 52.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *