Allen  Waiyaki Gichuhi has been elected as the President of Law Society of Kenya  beating  James Aggrey Mwamu in a hotly contested election 2675 to 2140. Coutroom MAIL reports that Harriete Chiggai was elected as the Vice President of the association beating Joy Brenda Masinde . They will lead the association for two years from 2018-2020.

Others elected to serve in the council of the Law Society of Kenya as members include Roseline Odede(General member 25 years standing), Maria Mbeneka(General member), Eric Nyongesa Wafula (Coast  Rep), Aluso Ingati(Nairobi Rep.1830 votes), Boniface Akusala(Nairobi Rep 1952 votes), Bernhard Ng’etich Kipkoech, Jane Masai(Up country), David Njuguna Njoroge(Up country), Herine Kabita(General member), Caroline Kamende Daudi (Nairobi Rep 2233 votes)and Damaris Ndinda Kinyili(Up country).

The members will be representing different interests among lawyers in Kenya.

Sign up and get listed on the first electronic directory of lawyers in Africa.It is free and Profitable

Section 17 of the constitution of law society of Kenya provides that The Council shall be the governing body of the society and shall consist of

  1. A president
  2. The Vice President
  3. Three representatives of the general members of the society, one of whom shall be an advocate of at least twenty –five years standing.
  4. Four Up Country representative who shall be persons who do not ordinarily practise in Nairobi.
  5. Three Nairobi representatives who shall be persons who ordinarily practise in Nairobi.
  6. One coast representative, who shall be a person who ordinarily practise at the coast.

They will resume office on the 24th of March 2018.

Courtroom Mail

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *