The former National Secretary of the Nigerian Bar Association, Afam Osigwe, a former Commissioner in the administration of the former Governor Olusegun Mimiko of Ondo State, Mr. Remi Olatubora, and a former Dean of Faculty of Law of the University of Lagos, Prof. Oyelowo Oyewo are on the list for the award of the rank of Senior Advocate of Nigeria 2020

They are among the list of 137 Lawyers the Legal Practitioner’s Privileges Committee released on Wednesday .

The list has 116 advocate and 21 academic applicants.

It was contained in a public notice signed by the Acting Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court and Secretary of the LPPC, Hajo Sarki.

Sarki, in the public notice stated that the shortlisted candidates were those who qualified after both the advocate filtration stages and academic pre-qualification exercise conducted by the LPPC.

He added that the qualified candidates were graded under the category system of the LPPC Guidelines, 2018.

A notice inviting members of the public “to comment on the integrity, reputation, and competence” of the candidates has been issued.

“All qualified candidates shortlisted are graded under the category system of the Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee Guidelines, 2018.”

The notice added that “any complaint(s) presented to the Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee must be accompanied with a verifying affidavit deposed to before a court of record in Nigeria.”

It stated that “in relation to paragraph 12(2) of the Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee Guidelines, 2018”, 20 copies of such comments must reach the LPPC office “not later than 4pm on Tuesday, October 13, 2020”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *