The 2019 Nigerian Legal Awards will recognize a host of legal luminaries at the biggest legal event of the year which will be held at the Landmark Event Centre, Oniru, Victoria Island, Lagos. This year’s event will recognize the important contributions of eminent legal icons, lawyers and firms who have contributed to the development of business law in Nigeria and who are leaving behind lasting imprints on the fabrics of Nigerian law.
Below is the Roll of Awardees for the Special Award category for the 2019 Nigerian Legal Awards:
Prof. Yemi Osinbajo, (SAN; GCON), Vice-President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria will be recognized for his invaluable contribution to the development of business law in Nigeria especially through his landmark contribution towards the attainment of the milestone of Ease of Doing Business, the promotion of transparency, ethics and good governance in Africa’s biggest economy.

According to the organizers, Prof Osinbajo has contributed immensely to the development of law in Nigeria both at the international level as an academic, democrat, legal practitioner, and the Vice President of Nigeria. His contribution towards reshaping the lives of young Nigerian lawyers will be recognized at this year’s Nigerian Legal Awards.
Similarly, Dr Sandie Okoro, Senior Vice-President and General Counsel of World Bank Group will be recognized at this year’s awards for her tremendous contribution to the development of diversity and inclusion in the global legal community. An amazon with Nigerian descent, Sandie has made her indelible footprint in the global legal space and today, sits on the Board of the World Bank as Senior Vice-President and General Counsel.

Other awardees at this year’s awards include Abimbola Ogunbanjo, President of the National Council of the Nigerian Stock Exchange and Managing Partner of Chris Ogunbanjo LLP, Cecilia Akintomide, OON, Independent Non-Executive Director of FBN Holdings and Fmr. Vice President Secretary General of the African Development Bank, Sola Adepetun, founding Partner of one of Nigeria’s most reputable firms, Adepetun Caxton-Martins & Segun (ACAS-LAW) and Chairman, Board of Directors, Standard Chartered Bank, Prof. Yinka Omorogbe, Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Edo State and Fmr. National Secretary to the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, Adedoyin Rhodes-Vivour, SAN, Managing Partner of Doyin Rhodes-Vivour as well as Olumide Akpata, former Chairman of the Nigerian Bar Association Section on Business Law will be recognized at the 2019 Nigerian Legal Awards.

The ESQ Nigerian Legal Awards will also recognize the important contributions of law firms who have moved the African continent with their legal arsenal.
To celebrate the ingenuity of the various law firms, the recognition has been split in various categories including Law Firm of the Year, Managing Partner of the Year, Banking and Finance, Oil and Gas, Dispute Resolution, Private Equity, Real Estate and Construction, Capital Market, Intellectual Property, among others. Of note also, is the honouring of 40 under 40 Rising Stars lawyers who have been making giant strides within the Nigerian legal space.
The Nigerian Legal Awards which is convened by ESQ Legal Blitz is the only platform projecting the achievements of legal players within Nigeria’s thriving business law community The awards represent the beacon of honour and prestige on the achievements recorded in the Nigerian legal industry.

Among the guests expected at this year’s event are; a team from the World Bank, the African Development Bank, Senior Advocates of Nigeria, CEOs of multinationals, supranational and intranational corporations, captains of Nigeria most prestigious institutions and other eminent personalities.

The Awards ceremony will be held at the Landmark Event Centre, Oniru, Victoria Island, Lagos on the 1st of November 2019. Red carpet opens by 4pm while the ceremony proper kicks off by 5pm prompt.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *